Boys U17DA Finish Season in Close Contests

FARIBAULT, MINN. - The Shattuck-St. Mary’s Boys U17DA soccer team finished their season with three well-fought contests against tough Development Academy teams.

On May 19, SSM faced the Crew Wolves in Faribault, Minn. Both teams had solid possession of the ball throughout the game, but two unanswered goals by the Wolves in the 43rd and 81st minutes gave the 2-0 victory to the visiting team.

The Sabres returned to the turf the following day to take on Vardar in their final home game of the season. Two quick goals by Vardar in the first 20 minutes put SSM at a disadvantage early but also gave them some fire. In the 60th minute, Nehemias Rubio ‘20 capitalized on a rebound off a shot from Sean Knoblauch ‘19 to put the Sabres on the board. The momentum continued from there with many more scoring chances created, but it was not enough to overcome Vardar with 3-1 standing as the final score.

For the final game of the season, the team traveled to Waukegan, Ill. to face FC United on June 2. Scoring stayed quiet until the 72nd minute of the game when FC United broke things open. The Sabres had a very strong push in the last ten minutes, but FC United was able to make many last minute blocks and clearances to hang on to the 1-0 victory.


Starting lineup against Crew Wolves
Front row (l-r): Kupa'a Fernandez '19, Nehemias Rubio '20, Brody Phan '21, Wylie Trujillo '20, Cade Thomson '20
Back row (l-r): Christian Burkhart '19, Lukas Spady '19, Daniel Massey '20, Sean Knoblauch '19, Trevor Prince '19, Erick Villatoro '20

Starting lineup against Vardar
Front row (l-r): Logan Haustein '19, Cade Thomson '20, Wylie Trujillo '20, Brody Phan '21, Brandon Cobb '19
Back row (l-r): Christian Burkhart '19, Gavin Pankey '19, Daniel Massey '20, Lukas Spady '19, Michael Roach '19, Trevor Prince '19

Starting lineup against FC United
Front row (l-r): Kupa'a Fernandez '19, Nehemias Rubio '20, Cade Thomson '20, Wylie Trujillo '20, Erick Villatoro '20
Back row (l-r): JT Harms '20, Daniel Massey '20, Sean Knoblauch '19, Michael Roach '19, Trevor Prince '19, Gavin Pankey '19